An Interview With Kirsty Gates

Tell us what you do for a living.

I am the Director of Finance and Human Resources for The Change Organisation Ltd

Why are you the right person for this job?

Starting as an Administration Assistant in Purchasing I have worked my way up to my current position. I have enjoyed the highs of the company and worked my hardest through the lows, always with the aim to bring the company out the other side stronger and better. During my 13 year career with The Change I have grown not only my experience and knowledge but also my dedication and commitment to the company.

What gets you up in the morning?

My children! Both literally (my youngest usually wakes around 6.00 most morning’s) and is a motivational source. My career at The Change Organisation is what supports my family. I get up and work to keep The Change moving forward and in turn I give my family the best I can.

Who helped you get to where you are today?

My husband. He is a massive support to my career and after the birth of our second son gave up his job to be a stay at home dad so that I could return to work full time. Also, our chairman Graham Burns and my predecessor Gill Meeks. I learnt a massive amount from Graham and Gill. I’m still learning from Graham now.

What’s running on your smartphone?

Zoopla – I can’t help but be nosey on there! Also Facebook – can’t help but be nosey on there too, and WhatsApp.

Tell us something most people do not know about you?

I’ve danced at the Blackpool Tower representing the South East of England in the Freestyle Disco Dancing and Rock n Roll National Dance championship.

What goal do you have to achieve before you die, and why?

My goal is realistic and simple. I want to be able to live a happy and comfortable life with my family enjoying holidays and time together. I am also part of the company’s weekly lottery syndicate so every Friday my goal is to win the lottery!

What is the best book you’ve ever read?

I’ve always enjoyed reading and opt for fiction which doesn’t require too much of my brain power and can be picked up and put down as time allows. Generally I’ll go for a Romcom but I think my favourite books are the Harry Potter series. I have the collection and am looking forward to starting reading them to my eldest son.

And the best film you’ve ever seen?

I can’t narrow this down to any one film. I do quite enjoy watching Pixar’s animated films with my children.

What would be your Desert Island MP3s?

Anything that I can sing along to.

What temptation can you not resist?

Food, particularly cheese and chocolate (although not together).

What was your first car and how does it compare with what you drive now?

My first car was a white A registration Ford Fiesta. I loved it at the time but much prefer the comfort and drive of my Audi A3 which I now drive.

If you could be any animal for a day, what would you be and why?

A Koala Bear. Koalas sleep around 22 hours a day, when awake they spend quality time only on eating. (I have two young children! I like Cheese and Chocolate!).

If you could take part in one event in the Olympics, which would you choose and why?

Beach Volleyball. Am I any good at Volleyball? No. But afterwards I could sit on the beach chilling out with a glass of wine.

If you were facing awesome peril and impossible odds, which real or fictional person would you most want on your side and why?

My husband, he’s a very calm person and I know he’d make me laugh whatever our situation.

Leave a comment